The Natural State

Get An Arkansas Auto Insurance Quote

Arkansas Auto Insurance Coverage

The beauty of Arkansas is what draws many visitors to the state, so it's no wonder that it is known as the Natural State. But before you cruise down to Hot Springs National Park, you’ll need to ensure you have the right protection for yourself and your vehicle. 

Required Auto Insurance in Arkansas 

Arkansas requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, which pays for any damage or injuries caused by an accident in which you were at fault. Arkansas requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $25,000 per accident.

Arkansas Teen Driving Laws

Arkansas operates under a Graduated Drivers License (GDL) Law, which includes three stages: Learner's License, Intermediate License, and Unrestricted Driver's License. 

  • Learner's License: At 14, teens may obtain a learner’s license after passing a written exam and a vision test. A learner's license allows teens to drive with a licensed driver over 21. The learner's license expires when the teen driver turns 16 years old.
  • Intermediate License: At 16, teens may obtain an intermediate license. Teens must drive with a passenger who is at least 21 years old for the first six months after receiving their intermediate license. 
  • Unrestricted Driver's License: Once 18, drivers may apply immediately for a full unrestrictive license if they have no serious traffic violations or accidents during the 12 months before applying.

Arkansas Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in Arkansas. Some examples of common discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage Options in Arkansas

No law in Arkansas states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand your coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of expenses and situations.

Start your Arkansas auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247.

Learn More About Arkansas

State of Arkansas road sign
About Arkansas

Arkansas is America's 25th state. With over 2 million acres of national forest land, Arkansas is a beautiful place to visit. The state is also home to America's only active diamond mine.