The Constitution State

Get A Connecticut Auto Insurance Quote

Connecticut Auto Insurance Coverage

From its rich American history to beautiful sceneries, there's a lot to love about living in Connecticut. But, whether you're a new resident or have deep roots in the Constitution State, it's important to understand the auto insurance requirements in Connecticut.

Required Auto Insurance in Connecticut

Connecticut requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, which pays for any damage or injuries caused by an accident in which you were at fault. Connecticut requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $25,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

Connecticut Teen Driving Laws

Connecticut requires 16- and 17-year-old teen drivers to hold a learner's permit before applying for their Connecticut driver's license. At 18, drivers are not required to obtain a permit. However, teen drivers with a permit must complete the following requirements to be eligible for a driver's license: 

  • Behind-the-wheel training: Teens must complete a 40-hour driver's education course and an 8-hour safety course before applying for their license. Guardians are required to attend a 2-hour class with their teens as well. 
  • Driving practice: Teen drivers must log 40 hours of driving practice to receive their license. 
  • Exams: To receive a Connecticut driver's license, teen drivers must also pass a vision and road test.

Please be aware of passenger restrictions for 16- and 17-year-olds in Connecticut.

Connecticut Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in Connecticut. Some examples of typical discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage in Connecticut

No law in Connecticut states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand your coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of expenses and situations.

Start your Connecticut auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247.

Learn More About Connecticut

A green welcome to Connecticut road sign
About Connecticut

Connecticut is America's 5th state. Home to prestigious universities, beautiful museums, and rich American history, the Constitution State was one of the original 13 colonies in America.