The First State

Get A Delaware Auto Insurance Quote

Delaware Auto Insurance Coverage

With its rich American history dating back to the original 13 colonies, Delaware has plenty to offer its residents. But, whether you're new in town or have deep roots in the First State, it's essential to understand the auto insurance requirements in Delaware. 

Required Auto Insurance in Delaware

Delaware requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, which pays for any damage or injuries caused by an accident in which you were at fault. Delaware requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $10,000 per accident.
  • Personal Injury Protection: $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident.

Delaware Teen Driving Laws

Delaware operates under a Graduated Driver's License (GDL) Law, which includes three stages: Learner’s Permit, Restricted License, and Unrestricted License. 

  • Learner’s Permit: At 16, teens can obtain a learner’s permit after passing a written exam and completing a driver education course. A learner’s permit allows teens to drive with a parent, legal guardian, licensed driver over 25, or a certified driving instructor. 
  • Restricted License: Teen drivers can obtain a restricted license after holding a learner's permit for 6 months. With a restricted license, teen drivers may operate a vehicle unsupervised between 10:00 PM and 6:00 AM. However, teen drivers must be supervised when driving between 10:00 PM and 6:00 AM.  
  • Unrestricted License: To obtain an unrestricted or Class D license, drivers must be at least 17 years old and have had their learner's permit for 12 months. Applicants who are 18 years old may apply immediately for a full license.

Please be aware of additional restrictions for teen drivers in Delaware.

Delaware Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in Delaware. Some examples of common discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage in Delaware

No law in Delaware states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand your coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of expenses and situations.

Start your Delaware auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247

Learn More About Delaware

A road sign that reads Welcome to Delaware
About Delaware

Delaware was the first state to ratify the United States Constitution on December 7, 1787. Though a small state, Delaware is full of scenic stops, rich American history, and friendly towns.