The Sunflower State

Get A Kansas Auto Insurance Quote

Kansas Auto Insurance Coverage

Home to college basketball and beautiful cities such as Wichita, there's much more to Kansas than just cornfields. But, whether you're new in town or have deep roots in the Sunflower State, it's essential to understand the auto insurance requirements in Kansas.

Required Auto Insurance in Kansas

Kansas requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, which pays for any damage or injuries caused by an accident in which you were at fault. Kansas requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $25,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. 
  • Personal Injury Protection: $4,500 per person. 

Kansas Teen Driving Laws

Kansas operates under a Graduated Drivers License (GDL) Law, which includes three stages: Learner's Permit, Restricted License, and Unrestricted Driver's License. 

  • Learner's Permit: At 14, Kansas teens may apply for a learner's permit with their parent's permission after passing a written and visual exam. 
  • Restricted License: Teens may obtain their restricted license at 15 if they have passed a driver's education course or at 16 if they have not. Teen drivers must log 25 hours of supervised driving (10 hours at night) to move to the next stage. Teens are restricted from driving between 9:00 PM and 5:00 AM. 
  • Unrestricted Driver's License: Once 17, drivers may obtain their full unrestricted license or after holding their restricted DL for 6 months. A vision, written, and driving test are required. 

Please be aware of additional restrictions for teen drivers in Kansas. 

Kansas Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in Kansas. Some examples of common discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage Options in Kansas

No law in Kansas states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand your coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of expenses and situations.

Start your Kansas auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247.

Learn More About Kansas

Blue welcome sign of the state of Kansas
About Kansas

Kansas became America's 34th state in 1861. Home to prestigious state basketball programs and endless cornfields, Kansas is a state filled with midwestern charm and kindness.