The Pelican State

Get A Louisiana Auto Insurance Quote

Louisiana Auto Insurance Coverage

Know nationwide as the home of Mardi Gras and for its rich food scene, there is a lot to love about Louisiana. But, whether you're new to the area or have deep roots in the Pelican State, it's important to understand the auto insurance requirements in Louisiana.

Required Auto Insurance in Louisiana

Louisiana requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, which pays for any damage or injuries caused by an accident in which you were at fault. Louisiana requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $25,000 per accident.

Louisiana Teen Driving Laws

Louisana operates under a Graduated Driver's License (GDL) program, which includes three stages: Learner's Permit, Intermediate License, and Full License. 

  • Learner's Permit: At 15, teens can obtain a learner's permit after passing a written exam and completing a driver education course. An instructional permit allows teens to drive with a parent, legal guardian, or licensed driver over 21.
  • Intermediate License: At 16, teen drivers can obtain an intermediate license after holding an instructional permit for 180 days and completing a minimum of 50 hours of supervised driving, with 15 hours at night. With an intermediate license, teens cannot drive between 11:00 PM and 5:00 AM.
  • Full License: At 17, drivers may obtain their full license, provided that the driver had no traffic violations while holding their intermediate license.

Please be aware of additional restrictions for teen drivers in Louisiana.

Louisiana Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in Louisiana. Some examples of common discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage in Louisiana

No law in Louisiana states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand your coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of expenses and situations.

Start your Louisiana auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247.

Learn More About Louisiana

Blue welcome to Louisiana road sign
About Louisiana

Louisiana became America's 18th state in 1812. Home to the famous Bourbon Street and the birthplace of Tobasco, Louisiana is filled with a rich food and entertainment scene.