The Bay State

Get A Massachusetts Auto Insurance Quote

Massachusetts Auto Insurance Coverage

With dozens of historic towns dating back to colonial America, Massachusetts has a lot to explore. But, whether you're new to the commonwealth or have deep roots in the Bay State, it's important to understand Massachusett's auto insurance requirements.

Required Auto Insurance in Massachusetts 

Massachusetts requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, which pays for any damage or injuries caused by an accident in which you were at fault. Massachusetts requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $5,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident.
  • Personal Injury Protection: $8,000 per person.

Massachusetts Teen Driving Laws

Massachusetts operates under a Graduated Drivers License (GDL) Law, which includes three stages: Learner's Permit, Junior License, and Unrestricted Driver's License. 

  • Learner's Permit: At 16, Massachusetts teens may apply for a learner's permit with their parent's permission. With a learner's permit, drivers must complete 40 hours of driving practice before moving on to the next step.
  • Junior License: Teens may obtain their junior license at 16-and-a-half years after holding their learner's permit for 6 months. Teens must complete a driver's education course and pass a driving test to obtain their junior license. With this license, teens are restricted from driving between 12:30 AM and 5:00 AM. 
  • Unrestricted Driver's License: Once 18, most drivers may obtain their full unrestricted license.

Please be aware of additional restrictions for teen drivers in Massachusetts. 

Massachusetts Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in Massachusetts. Some examples of common discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage Options in Massachusetts

No law in Massachusetts states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand your coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of situations.

Start your Massachusetts auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247.

Learn More About Massachusetts

Blue Welcome to Massachusetts road sign
About Massachusetts

Massachusetts became America's 6th state in 1788. Originally one of the first thirteen colonies, Massachusetts is a state full of American history and must-visit museums.