The Great Lake State

Get A Michigan Auto Insurance Quote

Michigan Auto Insurance Coverage

Home to the Motor City, Michigan has a long historical connection to American automobiles. But, whether you're new in town or have deep roots in the Great Lake State, it's essential to understand the auto insurance requirements in Michigan.

Required Auto Insurance in Michigan

Michigan requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, which pays for any damage or injuries caused by an accident in which you were at fault. Michigan requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $10,000 per accident.
  • Property Protection Insurance: $1 million.
  • Personal Injury Protection: Unlimited PIP coverage, or additional options.

Michigan Teen Driving Laws

Michigan operates under a Graduated Drivers License (GDL) Law, which includes three levels: Level 1, Level 2, and Level 3. 

  • Level 1 Learner's License: At 14 years and 8 months, Michigan teens can enroll in level 1 of driver's education. At level 1, teens must complete 50 hours of supervised driving with 10 hours being at night.
  • Level 2 Intermediate License: Teens may move on to level 2 at the age of 16 years old after completing their supervised driving requirements and passing a driving skills test. With a level 2 license, teens are restricted from driving between 10:00 PM and 5:00 AM. 
  • Level 3 Full License: At 17, teens who have held a level 2 license for at least 6 months, and haven't received a traffic violation for at least a year will automatically have their license upgraded to a level 3 license with full driving privileges. 

Please be aware of additional restrictions for teen drivers in Michigan. 

Michigan Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in Michigan. Some examples of common discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage Options in Michigan

No law in Michigan states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand your coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of expenses and situations.

Start your Michigan auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247.

Learn More About Michigan

A blue welcome to Michigan road sign
About Michigan

Michigan became America's 26th state in 1837. Home to Motor City, Michigan has a long history tied to the American automobile and helped revolutionize the industry.