The Magnolia State

Get A Mississippi Auto Insurance Quote

Mississippi Auto Insurance Coverage

Known for its southern hospitality and delicious food, there's a lot to love about living in Mississippi. But, whether you're new to the area or have deep roots in the Magnolia State, it's important to understand the auto insurance requirements in Mississippi.

Required Auto Insurance in Mississippi

Mississippi requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, which pays for any damage or injuries caused by an accident in which you were at fault. Mississippi requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $25,000 per accident.

Mississippi Teen Driving Laws

Mississippi operates under a Graduated Driver's License (GDL) program, which includes three stages: Learner's Permit, Intermediate License, and Full Driver's License. 

  • Learner's Permit: At 15, Mississippi teens can obtain a learner's permit after passing a vision test and knowledge exam. A learner's permit allows teens to drive with a parent, legal guardian, licensed driver over 21, or a certified driving instructor. 
  • Intermediate License: At 16, teen drivers may apply for their intermediate license after passing a road skills exam. With an intermediate license, teens cannot drive unsupervised between 10:00 PM and 6:00 AM.
  • Full License: After holding an intermediate license for 6 months without any violations, drivers may obtain their full, unrestricted license.

Please be aware of additional restrictions for teen drivers in Mississippi.

Mississippi Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in Mississippi. Some examples of common discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage in Mississippi

No law in Mississippi states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of situations.

Start your Mississippi auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247.

Learn More About Mississippi

Blue welcome to Mississippi road sign
About Mississippi

Mississippi became America's 20th state in 1798. The state is known for its famous magnolias, catfish, bluegrass music and its hospitable southern charm.