The Garden State

Get A New Jersey Auto Insurance Quote

New Jersey Auto Insurance Coverage

With over 130 miles of coastline, New Jersey is home to some of the most scenic beaches in the North East. But before you begin exploring the Garden State, it is essential to understand New Jersey's auto insurance requirements.

Required Auto Insurance in New Jersey

New Jersey requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, which pays for any damage or injuries caused by an accident in which you were at fault. New Jersey requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $5,000 per accident.
  • Personal Injury Protection: $15,000 minimum.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Property Damage: $5,000 per accident.

New Jersey Teen Driving Laws

New Jersey operates under a Graduated Drivers License (GDL) Law, which includes three levels: an Instructional Permit, a Provisional License, and a Full Driver's License. 

  • Instructional Permit: At 16, New Jersey teens can receive their instructional permit after passing a vision and knowledge test and completing a six-hour behind-the-wheel training course. With an instructional permit, teens may drive with a licensed adult at least 21 years of age.
  • Provisional License: At 17, teens may obtain their Provisional License which allows them to practice driving unsupervised. To get their Provisional License, teens must pass a road skills exam. With this license, teens are restricted from driving between 11:00 PM and 5:00 AM. 
  • Full Driver's License: After a year with their Provisional License, an 18-year-old may apply for their Full Driver's License.

Please be aware of additional restrictions for teen drivers in New Jersey. 

New Jersey Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in New Jersey. Some examples of common discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage Options in New Jersey

No law in New Jersey states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand your coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of situations.

Start your New Jersey auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247.

Learn More About New Jersey

A green welcome to New Jersey State sign
About New Jersey

New Jersey became America's 3rd state in 1787. Originally one of the 13 colonies, New Jersey's long and scenic coastline is home to over 50 seaside resort towns including Atlantic City.