The Sooner State

Get An Oklahoma Auto Insurance Quote

Oklahoma Auto Insurance Coverage

Home to a rich Native American culture and natural beauty, there's a lot to love about Oklahoma. But, whether you're new in town or have deep roots in the Sooner State, it's important to understand the auto insurance requirements in Oklahoma. 

Required Auto Insurance in Oklahoma

Oklahoma requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, which pays for any damage or injuries caused by an accident in which you were at fault. Oklahoma requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $25,000 per accident.

Oklahoma Teen Driving Laws

Oklahoma operates under a Graduated Driver's License (GDL) program, which includes three stages: Learner's Permit, Intermediate License, and Full Unrestricted License. 

  • Learner's Permit: At 15 and a half, Oklahoma teens can obtain a Learner's Permit after enrolling in a driver's education course and passing a written exam. A Learner's Permit allows teens to drive with a parent, legal guardian, licensed driver over 21, or a certified driving instructor. Teens must complete 50 hours of supervised driving practice (10 hours at night) before moving to the next stage.
  • Intermediate License: At 16, teen drivers may apply for their Intermediate License after completing the required driving practice, holding a permit for six months, and passing a driving skills exam. With an Intermediate License, teens cannot drive unsupervised between 10:00 PM and 5:00 AM.
  • Full Unrestricted License: At 18, or after holding an Intermediate License for six months, teens may apply for their Full Unrestricted License, provided that the driver has no traffic violations on their driving record.

Please be aware of additional restrictions for teen drivers in Oklahoma.

Oklahoma Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in Oklahoma. Some examples of common discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage in Oklahoma

No law in Oklahoma states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand your coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of expenses and situations.

Start your Oklahoma auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247.

Learn More About Oklahoma

A blue Welcome to Oklahoma road sign
About Oklahoma

Oklahoma became America's 46th in 1907. Fun fact: the nation's first parking meter—known as Park-O-Meter No. 1—was first installed in Oklahoma City in 1935.