The Beaver State

Get An Oregon Auto Insurance Quote

Oregon Auto Insurance Coverage

Famous for its beautiful natural attractions such as Crater Lake and Mount Hood, there's a lot to explore in Oregon. But, whether you're new in town or have deep roots in the Beaver State, it's essential to understand the auto insurance requirements in Oregon.

Required Auto Insurance in Oregon

Oregon requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, which pays for any damage or injuries caused by an accident in which you were at fault. Oregon requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $25,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Personal Injury Protection: $15,000 per person. 

Oregon Teen Driving Laws

Oregon operates under a Graduated Driver's License (GDL) program, which includes three stages: Provisional Instruction Permit, Provisional License, and Full License. 

  • Provisional Instruction Permit: At 15, Oregon teens can obtain a Provisional Instruction Permit after passing a knowledge exam. A Provisional Instruction Permit allows teens to drive with a parent, legal guardian, or licensed driver over 21. Teens must complete 100 hours of supervised driving practice (or 50 hours plus completing a driver's education course) before moving to the next stage.
  • Provisional License: At 16, teen drivers may apply for their Provisional License after completing the required driving practice, holding a permit for six months, and passing a driving skills exam. With a Provisional License, teens cannot drive unsupervised between midnight and 5:00 A for the first year.
  • Full Unrestricted License: At 18, teen driving restrictions are lifted, provided that the driver has no traffic violations on their driving record.

Please be aware of additional restrictions for teen drivers in Oregon.

Oregon Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in Oregon. Some examples of common discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage in Oregon

No law in Oregon states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand your coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of expenses and situations.

Start your Oregon auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247.

Learn More About Oregon

A green Oregon Welcomes You road sign
About Oregon

Oregon became America's 33rd state in 1859. At 1,943 feet (592 meters), Crater Lake in Oregon is the deepest lake in the United States and one of the deepest in the world.