The Ocean State

Get A Rhode Island Auto Insurance Quote

Rhode Island Auto Insurance Coverage

Known across the country as the sailing capital of the world, there's much to explore when in Rhode Island. But, whether you're new in town or have deep roots in the Ocean State, it's important to understand the auto insurance requirements in Rhode Island.

Required Auto Insurance in Rhode Island

Rhode Island requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, which pays for any damage or injuries caused by an accident in which you were at fault. Rhode Island requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $25,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

Rhode Island Teen Driving Laws

Rhode Island operates under a Graduated Driver's License (GDL) program, which includes three stages: Instruction Permit, Provisional License, and Full Operator's License. 

  • Instruction Permit: At 16, Rhode Island teens can obtain an Instructional Permit after completing a 33-hour driver's education course and passing a written exam. An Instruction Permit allows teens to drive with a parent, legal guardian, or licensed driver over 21. Teens must complete 50 hours of supervised driving practice (10 hours at night) before moving to the next stage.
  • Provisional License: At 16 and a half, teen drivers may apply for their Provisional License after completing the required driving practice, holding a permit for six months, and passing a driving skills exam. With a Provisional License, teens cannot drive unsupervised between 1:00 AM and 5:00 AM.
  • Full Operator's License: At 18, or after holding a Provisional License for a year, teens may apply for their Full Operator's License, provided that the driver has no traffic violations on their driving record.

Please be aware of additional restrictions for teen drivers in Rhode Island.

Rhode Island Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in Rhode Island. Some examples of common discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage in Rhode Island

No law in Rhode Island states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand your coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of situations.

Start your Rhode Island auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247.

Learn More About Rhode Island

A blue state of Rhode Island road sign
About Rhode Island

Rhode Island became America's 13th state in 1790. Originally one of the first thirteen colonies, Rhode Island is filled with numerous historical sites waiting to be explored.