The Palmetto State

Get A South Carolina Auto Insurance Quote

South Carolina Auto Insurance Coverage

Known for its breathtaking beaches and southern charm, there's a lot to love about South Carolina. But, whether you're new in town or have deep roots in the Palmetto State, it's important to understand the auto insurance requirements in South Carolina.

Required Auto Insurance in South Carolina

South Carolina requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, which pays for any damage or injuries caused by an accident in which you were at fault. South Carolina requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $25,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured Motorist Property Damage: $25,000 per accident.

South Carolina Teen Driving Laws

South Carolina operates under a Graduated Driver's License (GDL) program, which includes three stages: Beginner's Permit, Conditional License, and Full Driver's License. 

  • Beginner's Permit: At 15, South Carolina teens may obtain a Beginner's Permit after passing a written exam. A Beginner's Permit allows teens to drive with a parent, legal guardian, licensed driver over 21, or a certified driving instructor. Teens must complete 40 hours of supervised driving practice (10 hours at night) before moving to the next stage.
  • Conditional License: After holding their permit for 180 days, teens may apply for their Conditional License after completing the required driving practice and passing a driving skills exam. With a Conditional License, teens cannot drive unsupervised between 10:00 PM and 5:00 AM.
  • Full Driver's License: At 17, or after holding a Conditional License for a year, teens may apply for their Full Driver's License, provided that the driver has no traffic violations on their driving record.

Please be aware of additional restrictions for teen drivers in South Carolina.

South Carolina Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in South Carolina. Some examples of common discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage in South Carolina

No law in South Carolina states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand your coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of situations.

Start your South Carolina auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247.

Learn More About South Carolina

A blue South Carolina Welcomes You road sign
About South Carolina

South Carolina became America's 8th state in 1788. Fun fact: South Carolina is home to the Angel Oak tree, one of the country's oldest trees at about 500 years old.