The Lone Star State

Get A Texas Auto Insurance Quote

Texas Auto Insurance Coverage

Known for its famous BBQ, live music, and as the second-largest state, there's a lot to love about Texas. But, whether you're new to the area or have deep roots in the Lone Star State, it's essential to understand the auto insurance requirements in Texas.

Required Auto Insurance Texas

Texas requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, which pays for any damage or injuries caused by an accident in which you were at fault. Texas requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $25,000 per accident.

Texas Teen Driving Laws

Texas operates under a Graduated Driver's License (GDL) program, which includes three stages: Learner's License, Provisional Driver's License, and Unrestricted License. 

  • Learner's License: At 15, Texas teens may obtain a Learner's License after passing a written exam and enrolling in drivers education. A Learner's License allows teens to drive with a parent or legal guardian. Teens must complete 30 hours of supervised driving practice (10 hours at night) before moving to the next stage.
  • Provisional Driver's License: At 16, teens may apply for their Provisional Driver's License after holding a Learner's License for 6 months and passing a driving test. With a Provisional Driver's License, teens cannot drive unsupervised between midnight and 5:00 AM.
  • Unrestricted License: At 18, a teen's Provisional Driver's License will expire. Drivers will then need to apply to receive their driver's license for individuals under 21 years of age.

Please be aware of additional restrictions for teen drivers in Texas.

Texas Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in Texas. Some examples of common discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage in Texas

No law in Texas states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand your coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of situations.

Start your Texas auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247.

Learn More About Texas

A green Welcome to Texas road sign
About Texas

Texas became America's 28th state in 1845. Fun fact: with an area of 268,820 square miles (7% of the total U.S), Texas is the largest state in the contiguous United States.