The Green Mountain State

Get A Vermont Auto Insurance Quote

Vermont Auto Insurance Coverage

Known for its forested beauty and majestic green mountains, there's a lot to explore when in Vermont. But, whether you're new to the area or have deep roots in the Green Mountain State, it's important to understand the auto insurance requirements in Vermont.

Required Auto Insurance in Vermont

Vermont requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, which pays for any damage or injuries caused by an accident in which you were at fault. Vermont requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $10,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Property Damage: $10,000 with a $150 deductible.

Vermont Teen Driving Laws

Vermont operates under a Graduated Driver's License (GDL) program, which includes three stages: Learner's Permit, Junior Driver's License, and Full Driver's License. 

  • Learner's Permit: At 15, Vermont teens may obtain a Learner's Permit after passing a written exam. A Learner's Permit allows teens to drive with a parent or legal guardian. Teens must complete 40 hours of supervised driving practice (10 hours at night and 10 in inclement weather) before moving to the next stage.
  • Junior Driver's License: After holding their permit for at least one year, teens may apply for their Junior Driver's License. With a Junior Driver's License, teens cannot operate a vehicle in the course of their employment (example: pizza delivery) for one year.
  • Full Driver's License: At 18, teens may apply for their Full Driver's License if the driver has no traffic violations on their driving record.

Please be aware of additional restrictions for teen drivers in Vermont.

Vermont Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in Vermont. Some examples of common discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage in Vermont

No law in Vermont states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand your coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of situations.

Start your Vermont auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247.

Learn More About Vermont

A green Welcome to Vermont road sign
About Vermont

Vermont became America's 14th state in 1791. Prior to being the first state admitted to the union after the original 13 colonies, Vermont was a sovereign entity for 14 years.