The Old Dominion State

Get A Virginia Auto Insurance Quote

Virginia Auto Insurance Coverage

Home to George Washington's former estate and the Chesapeake Bay, there's a lot to explore when in Virginia. But, whether you're new in the area or have deep roots in the Old Dominion State, it's important to understand the auto insurance requirements in Virginia.

Required Auto Insurance in Virginia

Virginia requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, or pay a $500 Uninsured Motor Vehicle fee. Virginia requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $20,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured Motorist Property Damage: $20,000 per accident.

Virginia Teen Driving Laws

Virginia operates under a Graduated Driver's License (GDL) program, which includes two stages: Learner's Permit and Full Driver's License. 

  • Learner's Permit: Once turning 15 and a half years old, Virgina teens may apply for their Learner's Permit. To obtain a Learner's Permit, teens must pass a knowledge exam. A Learner's Permit allows teens to drive with a parent, legal guardian, licensed driver over 21 years of age. Teens must complete 45 hours of supervised driving practice (15 hours at night) and driver's education before moving to the next stage.
  • Full Driver's License: After holding a Learner's Permit for nine months and completing driver's education, Virginia teens that are 16 and 3 months old will become elligible to take a road skills test to obtain their Full Driver's License.

Please be aware of additional restrictions for teen drivers in Virginia.

Virginia Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in Virginia. Some examples of common discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage in Virginia

No law in Virginia states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand your coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of expenses and situations.

Start your Virginia auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247.

Learn More About Virginia

A black Welcome to Virginia road sign
About Virginia

Virginia became America's 10th state in 1788. Originally one of the first 13 colonies, Virginia is full of rich American history and is home to the honorable Arlington National Cemetary.