The Mountain State

Get A West Virginia Auto Insurance Quote

West Virginia Auto Insurance Coverage

Known for its natural beauty and countless mountains, there's a lot to explore when in West Virginia. But, whether you're new in the area or have deep roots in the Mountain State, it's essential to understand the auto insurance requirements in West Virginia.

Required Auto Insurance in West Virginia

West Virginia requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, which pays for any damage or injuries caused by an accident in which you were at fault. West Virginia requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $25,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured Motorist Property Damage: $25,000 per accident.

West Virginia Teen Driving Laws

West Virginia operates under a Graduated Driver's License (GDL) program, which includes three stages: Instructional Permit, Intermediate License, and Full Driver's License. 

  • Instructional Permit: At 15, West Virginia teens enrolled in driver's education may obtain an Instructional Permit after passing a written exam. An Instructional Permit allows teens to drive with a parent or legal guardian. Teens must complete 50 hours of supervised driving practice (10 hours at night) before moving to the next stage.
  • Intermediate License: At 16, West Virginia teens who have completed their required supervised driving practice may obtain their Intermediate License after passing a road skills test. With an Intermediate License, teens may drive unsupervised between the hours of 5:00 AM and 10:00 PM.
  • Full Driver's License: After holding their Intermediate License for a year, teens who have no violations on their driving record may apply for a Full Driver's License.

Please be aware of additional restrictions for teen drivers in West Virginia.

West Virginia Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in West Virginia. Some examples of common discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage in West Virginia

No law in West Virginia states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand your coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of situations.

Start your West Virginia auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247.

Learn More About West Virginia

A green West Virginia road sign
About West Virginia

West Virginia became America's 35th state in 1863. With its rolling hills, forested mountains, and natural attractions, West Virginia is a must-visit state for those looking to explore.