The Badger State

Get A Wisconsin Auto Insurance Quote

Wisconsin Auto Insurance Coverage

Known as America's Dairyland and for cities like Milwaukee, there's a lot to love about Wisconsin. But, whether you're new in town or have deep roots in the Badger State, it's essential to understand the auto insurance requirements when in Wisconsin.

Required Auto Insurance in Wisconsin

Wisconsin requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, which pays for any damage or injuries caused by an accident in which you were at fault. Wisconsin requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $10,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

Wisconsin Teen Driving Laws

Wisconsin operates under a Graduated Driver's License (GDL) program, which includes three stages: Instruction Permit, Probationary License, and Full Driver's License. 

  • Instruction Permit: At 15, Wisconsin teens enrolled in driver's education may obtain an Instruction Permit after passing a written exam. An Instruction Permit allows teens to drive with a parent or legal guardian. Teens must complete 50 hours of supervised driving practice (10 hours at night) before moving to the next stage.
  • Probationary License: Wisconsin teens may obtain their Probationary License if they have passed driver's education, have held a permit for 6 months, and have completed the required driving practice. In addition, teens will have to pass a road skills exam. With a Probationary License, teens are not allowed to drive between the hours of midnight and 5:00 AM.
  • Full Driver's License: At 18, or after holding their permit for 9 months, all Probationary License restrictions are lifted and drivers may obtain their Full Driver's License.

Please be aware of additional restrictions for teen drivers in Wisconsin.

Wisconsin Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in Wisconsin. Some examples of common discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage in Wisconsin

No law in Wisconsin states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand your coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of situations.

Start your Wisconsin auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247.

Learn More About Wisconsin

A brown state of Wisconsin sign
About Wisconsin

Wisconsin became America's 30th state in 1848. Fun fact: Wisconsin is the number one producer of cheese in the United States and the second producer of milk.