The Equality State

Get A Wyoming Auto Insurance Quote

Wyoming Auto Insurance Coverage

Home to natural wonders like the Grand Prismatic Spring and Old Faithful, there's a lot to explore when in Wyoming. But, whether you're new in the area or have deep roots in the Equality State, it's important to understand the auto insurance requirements in Wyoming.

Required Auto Insurance in Wyoming

Wyoming requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, which pays for any damage or injuries caused by an accident in which you were at fault. Wyoming requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $25,000 per accident.

Wyoming Teen Driving Laws

Wyoming operates under a Graduated Driver's License (GDL) program, which includes three stages: Learner's Permit, Intermediate Permit, and Full Driver's License. 

  • Learner's Permit: At 15, Wyoming teens may obtain a Learner's Permit after passing a written exam. A Learner's Permit allows teens to drive with a parent or legal guardian. Teens must complete 50 hours of supervised driving practice (10 hours at night) before moving to the next stage.
  • Intermediate Permit: At 16, Wyoming teens may receive their Intermediate Permit after competing in their required driving practice and holding a Learner's Permit for at least ten days. Teens must also pass a road skills exam. With an Intermediate Permit, teens may drive unsupervised between 5:00 AM and 11:00 PM.
  • Full Driver's License: After holding an Intermediate Permit for 6 months, 16-and-a-half-year-old teens that have passed driver's education may receive their Full Driver's License. At 17, teens are eligible for a Full Driver's License without taking driver's education.

Please be aware of additional restrictions for teen drivers in Wyoming.

Wyoming Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in Wyoming. Some examples of common discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage in Wyoming

No law in Wyoming states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand your coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of situations.

Start your Wyoming auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247.

A state of Wyoming road sign
About Wyoming

Wyoming became America's 44th state in 1890. Famous for its national parks, Wyoming is the perfect state for those looking for endless outdoor adventures.