The Tar Heel State

Get A North Carolina Auto Insurance Quote

North Carolina Auto Insurance Coverage

Home to the first airplane flight and the nation's largest private residence, there's much to explore in North Carolina. But, whether you're new in town or have deep roots in the Tar Heel State, it's essential to understand the auto insurance requirements in North Carolina.

Required Auto Insurance in North Carolina

North Carolina requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, which pays for any damage or injuries caused by an accident in which you were at fault. North Carolina requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $25,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Property Damage: $25,000 per accident.

North Carolina Teen Driving Laws

North Carolina operates under a Graduated Driver's License (GDL) program, which includes three stages: Learner's Permit, Limited Provisional License, and Full Provisional License. 

  • Learner's Permit: At 15, North Carolina teens may receive their Learner's Permit after completing a driver's education course and passing a knowledge exam. A Learner's Permit allows teens to drive with a parent, legal guardian, or a certified driving instructor. Teens must complete 60 hours of supervised driving practice (10 hours at night) to move to the next stage.
  • Limited Provisional License: At 16, teen drivers may apply for their Limited Provisional License after completing the required driving practice, providing proof of insurance, and holding their Learner's Permit for 6 months. With a Limited Provisional License, teens cannot drive unsupervised between 9:00 PM and 5:00 AM.
  • Full Provisional License: At 16 and a half, teens may apply for their Full Provisional License if they have passed a road skills exam, logged 12 hours of additional driving practice, and have held a Limited Provisional License for at least 6 months. 

Please be aware of additional restrictions for teen drivers in North Carolina.

North Carolina Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in North Carolina. Some examples of common discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage in North Carolina

No law in North Carolina states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand your coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of situations.

Start your North Carolina auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247.

Learn More About North Carolina

A green Welcome to North Carolina road sign
About North Carolina

North Carolina became America's 12th state. Fun fact: the Wright brothers were the first to successfully fly an airplane in Kitty Hawk, North Carolina on December 17th, 1903.