The Volunteer State

Get A Tennessee Auto Insurance Quote

Tennessee Auto Insurance Coverage

Known across the country for its love of country music and southern charm, there's a lot to love about Tennessee. But, whether you're new in town or have deep roots in the Volunteer State, it's essential to understand the auto insurance requirements in Tennessee.

Required Auto Insurance in Tennessee

Tennessee requires all drivers to have liability insurance for both property damage and bodily injury, which pays for any damage or injuries caused by an accident in which you were at fault. Tennessee requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Property Damage: $15,000 per accident.

Tennessee Teen Driving Laws

Tennessee operates under a Graduated Driver's License (GDL) program, which includes three stages: Learner's Permit, Intermediate Restricted License, and Intermediate Unrestricted License. 

  • Learner's Permit: At 15, Tennessee teens may obtain a Learner's Permit after passing a written exam. A Learner's Permit allows teens to drive with a parent or legal guardian. Teens must complete 50 hours of supervised driving practice (10 hours at night) before moving to the next stage.
  • Intermediate Restricted License: At 16, or after holding a Learner's Permit for 180 days, teens may apply for their Intermediate Restricted License after passing a road skills test. With an Intermediate Restricted License, teens cannot drive unsupervised between 11:00 PM and 6:00 AM.
  • Intermediate Unrestricted License: After holding their Intermediate Restricted License for at least 12 months, teens may apply for their Intermediate Unrestricted License if the driver has no traffic violations on their driving record. At 18, the "Intermediate" notation is removed.

Please be aware of additional restrictions for teen drivers in Tennessee.

Tennessee Auto Insurance Discounts

Looking to save? You may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts available to drivers in Tennessee. Some examples of common discounts include:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Installed anti-theft systems
  • Multi-vehicle
  • Accident-free
  • Multi-policy




Read more about potential discounts by visiting our auto insurance discounts page.

Optional Coverage in Tennessee

No law in Tennessee states that you must settle for the state's minimum auto insurance requirements. You can always expand your coverage by purchasing optional insurance policies that cover a broader range of situations.

Start your Tennessee auto insurance quote online, or by calling (888) 772-4247.

Learn More About Tennessee

A blue state of Tennessee road sign
About Tennessee

Tennessee became America's 16th state in 1796. With its vibrant cities, entertainment culture, and southern food, Tennessee is a must-visit state full of attractions for the whole family.